My Diabetes Avoidance Blog – the accident of gender?

I’ve recently discovered that stress can raise blood sugar levels. I have been stressed for around 11years now mainly because I have felt responsible for the lives of others.

I was reminded today by a tweet, which came into my feed by someone I don’t follow, that the best care we can give others is care of ourselves.

Of course I have always known this, but it’s easy to forget. Sometimes we allow other people’s expectations and priorities to overshadow our own. I’ve always known too that my diet is my own, that I prefer certain foods over others, that I love salads, green veg and smelly fish in tins.

I never moan at other people for eating what they prefer, unless I become concerned about their health, but people have presumed to dictate to me what I should eat when I’ve been relatively healthy, just because that is what they are having and have been raised on. I know I’m responsible for accepting this, and I’m taking responsibility by choosing again to eat food I enjoy that is good for me.

I was interested to hear some scientists talking about analysing fecal waste for evidence of gut health peculiar to individuals, and discussing how we all have very individual responses to food. They told how in the future it would be possible to recommend individual diets for people to enhance gut health.

Lately, I’ve gone back to eating what I like; natural yougurt, salads, fish and rice. I’ve no idea whether these foods are good for me as an individual, but something tells me that they might be.

Years ago, I read about a food study that provided tables of food for children and observed that over a period of time, they chose a balanced diet. Perhaps, given choice, it’s the same for adults.

I rarely eat chocolate now (as I said in another post on diabetes, it’s usually 50% sugar). I know it was an error of judgement to eat the wrong foods when short of money. But perhaps it too is an error of judgement to keep women in low paid jobs just because they have historically been responsible for the emotional well being of their children. Women  have something to give to society that cannot be measured purely by the accident of their gender which has been the focus in England in many professions which have continued to ask questions about parental responsibility at interview until 2016, in my experience.

With love,

Hermione

Published by hermionelaake - Awards-nominated writer and associate editor O:JA&L

Whilst working on long fiction, Laake/Wilds write short stories, poetry, essays and blogs weekly. Laake appeared on Blog Talk Radio in 2016 in an interview across continents with Susan Wingate. Laake is an awards nominee, Jointly-published and Indie writer. Nominated for the Avon and Authonomy First Lines prize, 2014 and the H. G. Wells Grand Prize for Fiction, 2013 for the original #MYFRIENDALIEN out on AMAZON BOOKS in 2022. Flash fiction is published with Open: Journal of Arts and Letters. Laake has an MA from KU with distinction and a BA in English Literature.

AM Yoga Space

All About Yoga Practice, Poses, and Benefits

Home Workout Habit- Your Source for the Best Home Exercise Gear

Our site covers the leading models of weight benches on the market designed for the beginner and the powerlifter. Learn how each bench rated with pro lifters.

adriagoetz.com

About literary agent Adria Goetz.